What Charlotte Eats – Holiday Edition: Bruges

If you know me or follow me on Twitter you’ll know that I spent the first half of this week in Bruges. We’d been there before on our honeymoon so already had a pretty good idea of what/where to eat. Needless to say we ate lots of fries and waffles! Below is the chronological diary of what I ate.

The first thing I had was this amazing Croque Monsieur from the service station just off the eurotunnel. They’re just prepackaged, reheated ones but they taste SO GOOD. I had been really looking forward to this as I’d had one on our honeymoon and loved it.

The first thing to pass my lips in Bruges was this amazing affogato from the Haagen Dazs cafe on the Markt (the main square). It was incredibly good. All coffees in Bruges come with a little biscuit (as indeed in most of Europe, why don’t we do this?!) – if you’re lucky you get the Jules Destrooper butter waffle (my favourite!). My husband had this rather enormous ice cream sundae which I helped him to finish (so kind).

That evening we went to the same restaurant we went to on our first night of honeymoon, Belle Epoque. I guess it must be a pretty touristy place cause 90% of the other customers were English, although I think that could be said for most places on the mains streets of Bruges! But the food and service is good, and it’s got a good atmosphere.

I had the same thing I had before; this Flemish beef stew that came with a caramelised apple, and fries. It was AMAZING, again. The main reason we returned to this restaurant is that you can order a coffee with seven miniature desserts for less than 6 euros. I KNOW. Needless to say that was one of the high points of the trip.

The next morning I just had a croissant and a coffee for breakfast.

We had these amazing waffles at lunchtime (and more coffee). I had mine with strawberry sauce!

Later on we sat and had a drink (raspberry beer, yum yum), some fries and then another waffle (the best part about being on holiday is not having to eat proper meals). This was a different kind of waffle so it’s allowed! I had mine with whipped cream. It was SO GOOD.

That evening we went to an Italian restaurant which I can’t even remember the name of, but I had this amazing minestrone, and a pizza with all my favourite things on! Ham, artichokes, garlic, peppers and onions. And more nice wine.

We decided to go back to Haagen Dazs for dessert, and I had coffee ice cream with caramelised nuts, and a latte. Yummmm.

The next morning, I had another croissant and coffee breakfast; this time the croissant had chocolate and flaked almonds on top, a vast improvement!

And so ends my gastronomic tour of Bruges! Apart from a few souvenirs that I bought home when we visited a supermarket (a must in all foreign countries!). The Ovaltine spread is amazing, it’s got crunchy bits like Rice Krispies in!

Oh and we made a little stop off at Ed’s Diner on the way home, for a Big Bubba, cheese fries and a malt shake. The perfect end to a good few days of food!

Leave a Reply

