Where the magic happens: Inside my kitchen

I am an incredibly nosy person, and love peering into people’s houses when they’ve got the lights on but not drawn the curtains. Since I like a good nose into other people’s houses I thought it was only fair that I give you a little look inside mine.

I am one of those people that has to have everything out on the work surface. Not only do I think that empty kitchens look sterile and uninviting, but if I put things like the food processor and scales in cupboards, my laziness would take over and I would probably never take them out (or if I did I would loathe having to do so which takes most of the joy out of having these kinds of gadgets!). Also, though, I am really short on cupboard space as it is, so I definitely haven’t got the room to be storing things that can go on the counter.

As you can see, my kitchen is a bit of a hotchpotch of stuff. It’s supposed to have a “theme” of sage green and red, but really I just love a mix of ALL colours, so I just buy stuff I like whether it goes or not!

So here it is, my tiny little kitchen. There isn’t a whole lot to see to be honest, but it’s not the size it’s what you do with it that counts, right?! Sorry about the slight blurriness of the photos. As you can see, the light inside my house isn’t that great!

 

4 thoughts on “Where the magic happens: Inside my kitchen

  1. Your house looks so nice – jealous! I have a poky one bed flat, stupid southern prices. I also have that bread bin 9well, it’s my landlords) and those scales but in bright red! I try and have everything out too, but there isn’t room for my breadmachine or mixer 😦 Our kitchen is big but counter space is VERY limited (two little bits)

    • Thank you! But don’t be fooled, our house is very very poky. I.e. our bedroom has nothing but a bed and two tiny bedside tables in and we still have to squeeze around it! The kitchen and dining room part are definitely my favourite bits though.

      I love these enamel bread bins! Ours has a slightly interesting history – Jim apparently stole it from somewhere and it was sat in the garage for years until I saw it and rescued it. It’s a bit rusty and chipped but I’ve lined it with a tea towel inside. I love it!

Leave a Reply

